Articles, Blog

ATP World Tour Finals

November 4, 2019

The ATP World Tour Finals is a professional
men’s tennis tournament played on indoor hard courts and is held annually in November at
the O2 Arena in London, United Kingdom. The ATP World Tour Finals are the season-ending
championships of the Association of Tennis Professionals World Tour, featuring the top
eight singles players and doubles teams of the ATP Rankings. The tournament was first held in 1970. The current champions are Novak Djokovic in
singles and David Marrero and Fernando Verdasco in doubles. Unlike all other singles events on the men’s
tour, the ATP World Tour Finals is not a straightforward knock-out tournament. Eight players are divided into two groups
of four and play three round-robin matches each against the other players in their group. The two players with the best records in each
group progress to the semifinals, with the winners meeting in the final to determine
the champion. Though it is theoretically possible to advance
to the semi-finals of the tournament with two round-robin losses, no player in the history
of the singles tournament has won the title after losing more than one round-robin match. The current round robin format of two groups
of four players progressing to a semifinal and final, has been in place for all editions
of the tournament except the following years: 1970, 1971 – Round robin with no semifinals
or finals, winner decided on best performed player
1982, 1983, 1984 – 12 player knock-out tournament with no round robin. The top four seeds in the event received a
bye in the first round. 1985 – 16 player knock-out tournament with
no round robin In the current tournament, winners are awarded
up to 1500 rankings points; with each round-robin loss, 200 points are deducted from that amount. History
The event is the fourth evolution of a championship which began in 1970. It was originally known as the Masters Grand
Prix and was part of the Grand Prix Tennis Circuit. It was organised by the International Lawn
Tennis Federation ITF. It ran alongside the competing WCT Finals
the other season ending championships for the rival World Championship Tennis Tour. The Masters was a year-end showpiece event
between the best players on the men’s tour, but did not count for any world ranking points. In 1990, the Association of Tennis Professionals
took over the running of the men’s tour and replaced the Masters with the ATP Tour World
Championship. World ranking points were now at stake, with
an undefeated champion earning the same number of points they would for winning one of the
four Grand Slam events. The ITF, who continued to run the Grand Slam
tournaments, created a rival year-end event known as the Grand Slam Cup, which was contested
by the 16 players with the best records in Grand Slam competitions that year. In December 1999, the ATP and ITF agreed to
discontinue the two separate events and create a new jointly-owned event called the Tennis
Masters Cup. As with the Masters Grand Prix and the ATP
Tour World Championships, the Tennis Masters Cup was contested by eight players. However, under the rules of the Tennis Masters
Cup, the player who is ranked number eight in the ATP Champion’s Race world rankings
does not have a guaranteed spot. If a player who wins one of the year’s Grand
Slam events finishes the year ranked outside the top eight but still within the top 20,
he would have been included in the Tennis Masters Cup instead of the eighth-ranked player. If two players outside the top eight won Grand
Slam events, the higher placed player in the world rankings would take the final spot in
the Tennis Masters Cup. In 2009 the Masters was renamed to the ATP
World Tour Finals and got scheduled to be held at The O2 in London from 2009 to 2013. In 2012 the organisers extended the contract
by two years up to 2015. For many years, the doubles event was held
as a separate tournament the week after the singles competition, but more recently they
have been held together in the same week and venue. Like the singles competition, the doubles
involves the eight most successful teams on the tour each year, and starts with a group
phase with each team playing three round-robin matches. Roger Federer holds the record for the most
singles titles, with six. Points and prize money
The ATP World Tour Finals currently rewards the following points and prize money:
1 Prize money for doubles is per team. 2 Pro-rated on a per-match basis: $70,000
=1 match, $95,000=2 matches, $120,000=3 matches
3 Pro-rated on a per-match basis: $30,000=1 match, $50,000=2 matches, $65,000=3
matches Sponsors
The tournament has traditionally been sponsored by the title sponsor of the tour; however,
from 1990–2008 the competition was non-sponsored, even though the singles portion of the event
as part of the ATP tour was sponsored by IBM. In 2009, the tournament gained Barclays PLC
as title sponsor. Venues
Past finals Singles
Doubles Singles finals matrix
Doubles finals matrix Honour roll
Last ten tournaments: Records
Most titles: 1. Roger Federer, 6
2. Ivan Lendl, 5
2. Pete Sampras, 5
4. Ilie Năstase, 4
Most consecutive titles: 1. Ilie Năstase, 3
1. Ivan Lendl, 3
Most finals: 1. Ivan Lendl, 9
2. Boris Becker, 8
3. Roger Federer, 8
4. Pete Sampras, 6
Most consecutive finals: 1. Ivan Lendl, 9
2. Ilie Năstase, 5
2. Roger Federer, 5
4. Roger Federer, 3
4. Stan Smith, 3
4. Boris Becker, 3
Players who won the tournament undefeated: Michael Stich, 1993
Lleyton Hewitt, 2001 Roger Federer, 2003, 2004, 2006, 2010, 2011
Novak Djokovic, 2012, 2013 Ivan Lendl, 1981, 1982, 1985, 1986, 1987
John McEnroe, 1978, 1983, 1984 Bjorn Borg, 1979
Guillermo Vilas, 1974 Ilie Năstase, 1971, 1972 See also
ATP World Tour Finals appearances WCT Finals
WCT World Doubles ATP Challenger Tour Finals
WTA Tour Championships References External links
Official website profile
TennisTV: Official live streaming website

No Comments

Leave a Reply