Articles, Blog

Who Will Win Wimbledon? #alliteration

December 10, 2019

In Tennis there are four main championships, known as the grand slams. They are the French open, the US open, Australian open and Wimbledon. Wimbledon is held after the French Open but before the US Open. Wimbledon is a suburb in south west London and the competition is unique among the four others as it played on grass. Always played in the summer over two weeks between June and July, Wimbledon was first contested back in 1877 and has been a regular occurrence since. Both the men’s completion and the women’s are both played simultaneously with the winners in 2014 being Novak Djokovic and Petra Kvitova. It is a knockout competition and players are seeded based purely on their performances on grass. This year, the men’s four top seeds are, ranking in order, Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer, Andy Murray and Stan Wawrinka. The women’s are Serena Williams, Petra Kvitova, Simona Halep and Maria Sharapova. Enjoy the tournament if you’re watching it at home, and don’t forget to subscribe to my channel as well as to share and like my video. Thanks for watching.

No Comments

Leave a Reply